RSS

Blog Morphing For Hire

10 May

As you may or may not have guessed, I am not the only one blogging every day on WordPress. There are so many people doing it, that the new WordPress site (new to me at least) has a Daily Prompt post they put up every day, that way if you’ve been cursed to blog every day, and you’re sitting there wanting to go drink a beer but unable to because you haven’t blogged yet, you can go and stare at the Daily Prompt until you think of something completely unrelated to blog about.

At least that’s been my experience so far. Today is going to be different. Here’s their prompt:

“Language evolves. The meaning of a word can shift over time as we use it differently — think of “cool,” “heavy,” or even “literally.”

Today, give a word an evolutionary push: give a common word a new meaning, explain it to us, and use it in the title of your post.”

So my first thought was the word “blogsturbation” which would be the act of sitting around reading your own blog. I thought that might be kind of seedy for a classy joint like the WordPress Main Blogging Room or whatever that is over there. Certainly let’s keep that out of the title, yes?

Also, not a very long post. Pretty much one sentence, then joke’s over.

No, they want an existing word, and they want you to then show how it can and possibly is used in a new, different way. They want you to morph it. Then I realized I had just done it the other day. And then I was sort of shocked when I realized that the world that I had morphed was “blog.”

Blogging, actually. I’ll explain, and I’ll alter names and details so that the person I was sort of insulting won’t know it’s him or her.

I was talking to a guy. We’ll call him Andy. I was telling Andy about a work-related situation, one which he was very familiar with. It was a very common situation, one which I have dealt with literally thousands of times, and  as always, it required the coordination of a half-dozen people. So in these situations, whenever someone – anyone – in the group turns out to be slacking, at least one of the other people feels it, ends up having to work harder or longer or angrier.

In this case, I was the one who was feeling the slack, and it wasn’t one person, it was several. And since folks are sensitive and we all have to work together, I had to hold in my irritation/disappointment/boiling rage. It’s not like I never slack, so it’s good to just cover each other.

SamThen after we cover each other, and all’s well, we each return to wherever we came from, and there’s always someone there whose job is to listen to us vent about it. That’s Andy – I was pacing around in his office muttering like you know how Yosemite Sam mutters, when he’s getting really frustrated about the recent string of explosions he’s been in? Like that, and then also like when he’s yelling and shooting the floor and throwing his hat around.

Okay. One of the things that flew out of my mouth was to describe a person who had been talking too much. I mean, explaining and re-explaining and overexplaining, and all of the relevant people had already accepted the explanation. Time to stop explaining, Explainer. Beat it.

And what flew out of my mouth in describing it to Andy was, “And then meanwhile, Charlie’s standing there blogging about it…”

Talking too much. I used the word “blogging” to describe “talking too much.”

Sometimes I go to the grocery store, and the cashier just says the basic stuff he or she has to say, and sometimes I get the guy who wants to be my pal and chat the whole time. Blogging. The cashier is blogging about my groceries while he rings them up.

The neighbor, blogging out by the mail box about other neighbors. The three drunk guys on the train, blogging about their romantic interests and sexual escapades. The crazy guy at the bar, blogging to the air about Obama.

Blogging. There you go, fellow bloggers. Don’t get mad at me either, because really the only thing you could do if you didn’t agree is blog about it. See the problem there?

 

 
2 Comments

Posted by on May 10, 2013 in Writing/blogging

 

Tags: , , , , ,

2 responses to “Blog Morphing For Hire

  1. Theresa Jewel Ammons

    May 10, 2013 at 11:38 pm

    In a way, blogging is the writer’s equivalent of talking. Why not use it for “talking too much”? After all, blogs morphed from Web Logs which were originally the computer version of a diary or journal.

     

Leave a Reply

 
