RSS

Little Bite-Sized Curses

01 May

Of course, it’s a circular thing.

I need the Curse to keep writing. The Curse keeps it public, where I can’t just say screw it, I’m not writing anything and then not tell anybody. I mean, no one’s going to bust down my door and yell at me if I violate the Curse, but you’ll know. One at a time, you’ll know.

But then I can’t write a book in public, one post at a time. So the public curse is the motivation I need, but it also takes a lot of energy. Up to this point, it’s felt like doing push-ups, getting ready.

Cool, so now I’m ready. I’ve got a lot of editing to do, some days you’ll get a quick cup of coffee. If that happens, I should be doing some other kind of non-public writing thing that day, but how will you know? I could be sitting in a bowling alley at one of those sit-down Pac-Man games from the eighties, making a little scratch.

Trust me, I’ll do it. If I don’t think you can see me, I’ll put the laptop down and start throwing dice with some hobos over at the tracks. I. Do. Not. Like. To. Work.

That’s why generally you have to pay me for it. That’s why it has to cost me something to skip it, if I’m doing it for free.

So that’s the answer – little bite-sized curses. Short term goals. Let’s break this publishing thing up into pieces and I’ll let you know when the pieces are done.

Right now, I have two completed drafts to shop, and I’m going to shop them at the same time in two very different ways.

One novel is called Coming After God. It’s about a grief-stricken physicist who decides to murder God. It’s around 325 pages, and I’m going to market this one the old-fashioned way, by trying to find a literary agent, because I have a lot of faith in it, and I’m sort of old so that’s just what feels right.

I may very well learn that there’s a far better way to look for a traditional publishing contract, I may approach publishers directly. The first thing I need to do is have five packages sent out to five agents or publishers, and I’m giving myself til Next Tuesday (May 7) to do it.

The other novel is a five-part series of short crime novels called Pleasant Moon. This one I want to publish in a series of five ebooks, so by May 17 I have to have that narrowed down to five epublishers.

I won’t be able to tell you who they are, because I doubt they would appreciate it, but this shouldn’t a long-time thing here. People are publishing books right and left. It’s got to be a matter of educating myself.

So if you are wondering why I’m writing about practically nothing half the time, and if you are wondering how that’s going to lead to publication, it’s not. It’s just that I’m probably going to screw around every single day anyway, so I might as well do it writing. Also the writing is exercise. When it’s time to write stuff that isn’t silly, it’s like putting down a bat.

Anyway, I wasn’t getting anything done on my own,blogosphere, so it looks like we are stuck with each other. If you’d like me to pipe down, then get blogographically mystic on me, and just send the right people my way.

Other things to do:

1. Re-establish contact with the people I’ve met online who already do this stuff. Close mouth and open ears, will be the way I want to do that.

2. Learn ten new social networking websites and get efficiently on them. Assuming I do get published, they’re all going to insist on that stuff anyway.

3. Take a class in some of this stuff. WordPress, epublishing, whatever comes up around me.

Okay and that’s what I’m doing this afternoon, so I’ll let you know how it went in the next couple of days.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on May 1, 2013 in Writing/blogging

 

One response to “Little Bite-Sized Curses

  1. mammagulley

    May 1, 2013 at 12:18 am

    Good luck, T-Fal. You won’t need it.

     

Leave a Reply

 
