RSS

There’s Some Kind Of Blogosphere In Here

21 Apr

MiseryWordPress has changed  bit since my last blogographic death march. There’s a sort of main page where you have a Facebook-style newsfeed. You follow other bloggers like on Twitter, and you click “like” on posts, and you can reblog them – which I guess is like retweeting, I haven’t tried it yet, freaks me out a little bit.

They’ve always had some of these features, but I could swear the newsfeed is new, and I like it because not that many people on Facebook are up for reading a blog at any given time, whereas for the most part, everybody on the WordPress newsfeed is pretty much here for the blogs. Now, right off the bat I can see how that creates the sort of self-spamming environment that turned me off of Twitter, but I guess it’s pretty much going to be whatever the user allows it to be.

So I’m going to approach it very carefully. On Twitter, it’s easy to blast up into the thousands of follows, just by seeking and following any of millions of folks out there who will follow you back as long as you follow them. Nice, but what you’ve got are thousands of followers who are going to ignore you.

I’m going to pick about six or seven blogs per week, and I’m going to follow them. A couple of times a week, I’ll post about the ones I like the most. My requirements are not going to be particularly strict – I want a wide variety of topics, and I only want to read non-cringeworthy writing. Nobody gets to get mad if I click their blog and then don’t follow it, and don’t make me hang up a sign.

Naturally, since all that’s going to take some time, you’re going to have to come with me. We’ll start by sorting through the bloggers who have liked my posts and checking them out. I’m not going to say anything bad about anyone, I’ll just post here the first three or four that I really like.

Okay, the first one I click on is called Kendall F. Person, The Public Blogger. I read a post called The Hypnotizing of Loyalty which I found interesting. It’s LONG and I read the whole thing – that’s saying something. I hit the gong pretty quickly when it comes to reading. He’s got a sort of macaroni and cheese conspiracy thing going on there (among MANY other things) and refers to consumers as zombies. Okeedokee, hop in my newsfeed. But I don’t think that’s his real name, do you?

Peter SellersWhich reminds me, in my search I discover very quickly that there’s a spam angle to this newsfeed thing just as clearly as there is anyplace else. Obviously some of these folks don’t like my blog at all, they’ve just put up a few random posts and now they’re running around following as many people as they can, hoping to get as many followbacks as possible. Mr. Person, for example – using a possible pseudonym makes sense to me, that doesn’t make him a marketing spammer. But he could be collecting followers with just a couple of interesting posts.

We’ll keep our eye on this mysterious Mr. Person. But we won’t directly say anything to him, we’ll just weirdly, vaguely, sideways allude to the possibility that he’s up to something we don’t understand, that way if he is, he won’t think we’re suckers.

Awesome.Then the next one I click, I’m blindsided by some kind of art blog. For some reason, I had forgotten that artists had blogs, too. Check out this guy – DGAF. The first post I click on is a paragraph and a cool piece of art: Black Pyramids With The Gold Sand. Then I click on this one – which I’m not going to describe – called The Real Robin…And Batman. Sealed the deal for me, go over and look at that and presto, you’ve got a new blog to follow. Let me go figure out what his real name is –  Huh. It doesn’t say. Under the about section it tells me only this:

“The official blog for Radikal Nation and honestly….we don’t give a fuck.”

Great blog description? Or greatest blog description ever?

I guess that’s where the name DGAF comes from. See, I’m getting’ it. I’m cool. Nothing gets by me.

Okay and then there’s this one, Robakers is all it’s called. A lean blog, no bells, no whistles, but he’s telling detailed stories about being a pilot – and I mean DETAILED. Long, but interesting so I’ll take that one, too. I also like how simple it is – I’ve seen some of these things so busy they’re hard to look at. This guy says, here’s the story, read it or don’t.

Cool, that’s three for the day. I actually ended up following more than just the three, seems like I do need to fill up the newsfeed a little. I was surprised to find that there are whole blogs that are basically like Dear Penthouse letters – I mean, knock yourself out, just struck me as odd. I’m probably not going to feature your sex blog, but seriously – it’s good to know you’re out there, keeping the tradition alive.

Off to have a decent Sunday, by all means do the same.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

13 responses to “There’s Some Kind Of Blogosphere In Here

  1. LisaR @ Who Stole My Baby?

    April 21, 2013 at 5:51 pm

    Interesting. I guess I haven’t been blogging long enough to know what WordPress used to be like. I’m not sure I like the “like” feature on the blogs – I think it discourages people from commenting. But I guess I could turn it off if I really hate it so much.

     
  2. A.J. Goode

    April 21, 2013 at 5:54 pm

    Sounds like an ambitious plan. Good luck with it!.

    (And I clicked ‘like’ because I liked it, not as a marketing ploy.)

     
  3. Kendall F. Person, thepublicblogger

    April 21, 2013 at 6:31 pm

    I contemplated commenting not knowing if I would clear up the mystery or add to the intrigue, either way, I could not resist, ‘There’s Some Kind of Blogosphere in Here’ is just so darn entertaining. The premise is noble (following and writing about other bloggers), the descriptive but vague review – which could lend itself to a 50-50 split on whether it is received as good or bad (unsure if it was written that way purposely) – humbles, rattles and makes me laugh, all at the same time. My sincere appreciation for you selecting my blog, reading a featured post, and sharing your thoughts with your readers. I hope to have a decent Sunday as well.

     
  4. robakers

    April 21, 2013 at 6:51 pm

    Tom,

    Thanks for the shout out. I am glad that you are picking up what I am laying down because that is how I roll. I don’t know if you are my brother from another mother or we have a common sister from another mister. I will do my best to keep things simple and honest. If I stray from that path, please let me know. You are welcome anytime over at my place, make yourself at home.

    I love your site and your views. It is nice to find someone who sees past the distractors and gets to what is important. You sanity is safe with me.

    By the way, I thought long and hard about what to call my site. The final three choices for the name of the site were: “The knucklehead who can fly and stuff” or “The jackwagon who went to an airport” or my favorite “For most people it ain’t rocket surgery, but for me it is.” I asked my wife and she said just name it after yourself, dummy. So robakers was the final answer. Ha ha.

    By the way, you had me after the post about the best Captain ever. I am not a Trekkie, but I am willing to try after your insight.

     
  5. Kendall F. Person, thepublicblogger

    May 12, 2013 at 12:42 pm

    and the nominees are….

     
  6. JunkChuck

    September 22, 2013 at 5:51 am

    I am TOTALLY following you because of the Misery/Sledgehammer picture at the top of this post. This has to be a fun blog.

     
  7. monochromejunkie

    October 29, 2013 at 11:09 pm

    We feel the same way about the whole “follow me! follow me!” crap. Can you rewind me back to 1987 (please?!) before Twitter and Facebook and the most I had to worry about was whether I was getting brown dirt weed or skunk?

     
  8. PsiFiGal

    November 1, 2013 at 5:33 am

    Funny, I followed a link from Kendall F. Person’s blog to get here. I was checking him out because he started following my blog… I’m following you because I like your writing style and your interesting topics.

     
  9. The Childlike Author

    February 14, 2014 at 7:57 pm

    Great recommendation with the pilot’s site. I’ll be following Rob Akers myself. I’m going to be poking around your blog for a while as well…

     
  10. Belladonna Took

    June 20, 2014 at 5:26 pm

    i also found you via ThePublicBlogger, which I found because he followed me – I have no idea why, because although I aspire to have a totally fascinating blog (how can it not be when it’s all about Me?) I’ve barely got myself started. I mean, I’m such a newbie I still get excited about new follows! On the other hand, I don’t follow blogs that don’t look interesting. I hope that makes you feel complimented and all, but if you DGIF that’s okay too. I’ll read you anyway…:)

     
  11. Shabby Siobhan

    June 25, 2014 at 6:38 am

    Bit late getting on the blogging train, but you sound like you’ve got it about right! In fact, I found (and followed) your blog through Mr Person! He didn’t quite make the cut…

     
  12. rnwdgaf

    September 11, 2014 at 1:30 pm

    Much appreciated for the repost about our blog 🙂 and yea times are weird when you have to kinda whore yourself out on the internet just to get non-genuine followers who dont really appreciate the content you put out but its a new day and I cant complain. I know its been a while since you posted about this but Radikal Nation’s blog is filled with artwork, poetry and music from our alternative hip hop group as well as just…well randomness is all that can be said.

     

Leave a Reply

 
