RSS

With My Mind On My Blogging And My Blogging On My Mind

21 Mar

Well, I don’t want to alarm anyone, but in just two and a half weeks or so, my Year of Blogging Constantly comes to an end. I will have done what I was assigned by Last Year Tom, and I don’t see how he could complain.  Add up all my posts over the last year, and it totals around twelve hundred pages, most of them still up here for anyone who’d like to look.

Now, you might have noticed that some of them are no longer available.  That’s because some of them were in that book over there to the right, and it didn’t make sense to give them away and sell them at the same time.  And others were just simply really crappy and embarassing – so they got posted and then quietly removed later on. 

And others still were too easy to take the wrong way – like one time I wrote about my old art teacher picking up my buddy Mike Rothe by the face, and I think that might have come off like I really thought that was something Mike Rothe didn’t have coming.  Oh, he had it coming, all right, the big smarty pants.

But generally, they’re all here, and an awful lot of people have showed up to read them, and there’s a book right there for sale, and I’d have to say, in terms of breaking the actual Curse, looks like the mission was a success.  I’ve never been so prolific, so exposed, and so ready to actually to do something with my writing.

Of course, the problem is, right now I blog for free so much that I don’t have any time leftover to work on publishing the next book, and so in Year Two, you’re not going to see nearly the volume you have, so that I can focus on publishing, but I think we’re all going to find that absence makes the heart grow fonder.

Certainly I think it’s unlikely – and I’d worry about you – if you’re really thinking, “Oh, No!  What am I going to do without 800 words from Tom every single day?!”

The biggest problem with blogging is that it’s free.  In fact, remember when Betty White was on the Simpsons, and she was fundraising for public television, and she said something like, “If you’re watching Public television, and you’re not donating in this pledge drive, why you’re nothing more than a common thief!  A THIEF!”

Yeah, well that’s you, man, if you haven’t clicked on that book over there and bought it.  Twelve hundred pages and a solid year – that’s a lot of work.  Toss me a bone, here.  Me and Betty White think you need to pony up.

Well, what’s the difference.  You can always just tell me later that you bought it – there’s no way for me to know.  And I’ll keep doing it, don’t think I’ll vanish.  But the difference is, I’m not going to be Phoning It In too much, because I won’t have to.  If I can’t think of anything to write, then I probably just won’t post that day, and that should mean better stuff, as opposed to you having to sit there reading all about my kitty.

In the publishing world the bestsellers pay for everything.  All of the money is made from the bestsellers, and generally everything else loses money.  So an old publishing joke is where everybody’s at a big publishers meeting (or whatever) and the young, naive guy says, “Hey, I know – let’s only publish bestsellers!”

Of course, they don’t actually know which ones are going to be bestsellers until they turn into bestsellers.  And then ironically, once they are bestsellers, it stops mattering if that particular author wrote anything good enough to be a bestseller – it gets marketed as one, with the author’s name in huge letters, and then that’s how it behaves.

My posts are the same way – sometimes I know when one of them is going to take off, and other times I have no idea.  The one about my friend’s refrigerator is a good example – that one went all over the place.

Later next month, I’ll set up an author page so you’ll be able to follow my publishing exploits, and I’ll keep this blog mostly for hilarity, and I’ll probably look for a new place to put political stuff – I actually don’t like writing it, believe it or not, it’s just frequently on my mind when I’m trying to figure out what to post.

So anyway, just mark your calendars – April 8th, 2011 is the last day of The Curse of Future Tom, Year One.  There will probably be a few bands, some dancing girls, a crash-up derby, and then a potato sack race (it all seems like the appropriate way to celebrate), time and location to be announced.

Very sincere thanks to everyone who’s been reading so far.  It was a lot harder doing this at the beginning when hardly anyone at all was listening.  The amount of traffic I’ve received has closed a lot of mouths, and that’s always a good thing, when you’re putting yourself out there like I have been.  I really doubt that I could have finished this if it hadn’t caught on like it did.

Meanwhile, instructions for Future Tom, Year Two are currently being mulled over in committee.  This first year was boot camp – next year he’s going to war.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on March 21, 2011 in Writing/blogging

 

Tags: , ,

7 responses to “With My Mind On My Blogging And My Blogging On My Mind

  1. hugmamma

    March 21, 2011 at 8:02 pm

    Love your writing style, like a conversation with friends. Know what you mean about writing for free, i.e. blogging. Would also love to publish something, like a magazine article. Not sure I’d be up for a book. Too much time in isolation, never knowing if the energy expended is going to amount to being published, and worse yet, read. At least with blogging, voila! my post is published, and it’s read.

    A writer’s life is precarious. Should I do it for the passion, or the money? Meanwhile, I just keep blogging. Am almost to 9 months. Will see what I do at the one-year anniversary mark. May do what you’re planning. So good luck!

    i may be joining you…hugmamma. 🙂

     
    • Tom Chalfant

      March 21, 2011 at 9:58 pm

      Well, in my case, I have four unpublished books sitting around doing nothing, and I really feel like I could sit down and write another one in about a month. Writing every day certainly puts you in shape for that sort of thing.

      There’s no question I’ll keep on blogging – just not every day. Or maybe just not 800 words every single day.

      Anyway – thanks for commenting hugmamma, hope to see your around here more!

       
      • hugmamma

        March 22, 2011 at 12:46 am

        My brother keeps bugging me to write a book. Says he’d be proud if I got published. I’d be too. But I’m a little more practical at 61. He’s 72. You, on the other hand, look and sound a lot younger.

        so go write another book…hugmamma. 😉

         
  2. Robert Scott Lawrence

    March 21, 2011 at 9:40 pm

    Congrats on the upcoming anniversary. I just found your blog last week and am bummed you’re not going to try and break Lou Gehrig’s record of 2130 days without a break. But on the other hand your daily posts have been making me feel inadequate as a blogger, so I’m somewhat relieved to discover that you are not actually a robot full of 10,000 stories which come pouring out on demand. And now you’ve totally guilt-tripped me into buying your book, too.

     
    • Tom Chalfant

      March 21, 2011 at 9:55 pm

      Ah, guilt – where would I be without it? What I really think you should do is buy yourself a thousand of them and make a little fort out of them, then you can climb in there and read one of them.

      Also, you might check Amazon, because I’m told their shipping is a little more reasonable – Author House can go a little crazy on the shipping I guess.

       
  3. ecossie possie

    March 22, 2011 at 3:41 am

    Phulease pretty …Blogging every day is exsesive when you have a Family to humour an chores to acomplish….But dont cease an desist to much phuleeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeese Once a week would be acseptabubble.

     
  4. bex

    March 25, 2011 at 2:19 am

    wow, one year, congrats Tom! i’m going to miss you daily posts, even though i’m always falling behind, but happy to know about the book and the upcoming books – i will check them out.

    hope you have a best seller on your hands!

     

Leave a Reply

 
