RSS

My Long Lost Czech Twin Brother

01 Jun

So here’s a funny thing about my Lost rant – it’s not only been read by eleven thousand people and climbing, it’s being read all over the world.

The way it works on WordPress, where I publish my blog, is you have a dashboard as a main screen, and once you get used to it, you can do all sorts of things with it.  One of them is, you can see the paths by which people are clicking your link.

So for instance, until last week, practically all of the links were coming in from Facebook.  No surprise – that’s the only place I was posting anything about it.  But then right when I wrote the letter, and tacked it up about fifty times on the Lost Facebook page, people started reading it, and posting the link everywhere.

They’d end up commenting on Lostpedia, and someone would say, “You’re an idiot if you don’t like the end of Lost!”  And they’d say, here, Future Tom wrote you a letter.

Several thousand people came over from Lostpedia, just that one site.  But there were many other links I followed back, and I found many incredible things.

One was a blog written by the Rev. Pamela Dolan, who posted excerpts from two of my Lost articles, and also the links.  You might be surprised to find that the Rev. Pamela Dolan was so amused by my letter, but I’ll bet she’s heard worse than a little PG-13 profanity and locker room insults, in her travels.  I was nothing but thrilled to be cited in it, and anyone looking for a (considerably) more academic look at the show, especially in relation to religion and Christianity, should definitely go and check it out.

As I followed link after link back to forum after forum, I started stumbling into some pretty weird places.  Many of them were singing my praises.  Many of them were simply resuming their insults. 

But a couple of them weren’t even in English.  It’s a weird feeling, stumbling across a thread of comments, entirely in Polish, and then seeing your link sitting there plain as day, right in the middle.  Personally, if they’re talking about Future Tom in Poland, then I don’t care if they love me or hate me – I just think it’s fantastic.

So anyway, that’s how I met my Long Lost Czech Twin Brother.

If you’re following Future Tom on Facebook, then you’ve probably seen him hanging around.  He’s no doubt responsible for the several links I’ve followed back from my site, which are entirely in Czech, but he found the Future Tom Facebook page, and now, we’re Facebook friends.  Cause that’s how it works. 

Daniel Vavra is his name, and I’ve checked out his info page.  It’s possible this guy is my twin brother, if his taste in movies and television are any indication.  Not only does he have Conan on there, but he doesn’t even qualify it as Conan The Barbarian, leading me to believe that he is also a fan of Conan The Destroyer, and the many fine Conan books and comics.

Lost, Conan, Ghost in the Shell, Battlestar Galactica.  Even The Big Bang Theory, which I’ve actually never seen, but which everyone I know keeps telling me was made for me personally.  Sure, I’m not into paintball or what appears to be some serious death metal music, but I’m sure I would be if I’d quit being such a priss and try them.  So yes, it seems pretty likely this guy is my Long Lost Czech Twin Brother.

I tried to ask my mom about this tactfully, and she first tried to tell me that no, I just like movies that millions of other people like, and that genetics has nothing to do with it.  And that she’s never left the country, and that she’d know if I had a twin, because she was there when I was born.

Well, sure, of course she’d say that.  Sometimes when those skeletons rattle out of the closet, people just want to pretend they aren’t there.

So I pressed her on the matter a little harder, and I got hollered at, and I got a hot cup of coffee in my face.  Meaning, as of right now, we don’t have an answer, but my gut tells me, yes, this is my Long Lost Czech Twin Brother.

Anyway, once we got re-acquainted, and we ascertained which one of us was the good twin and which one of us was the evil twin – take a guess – he told me something like, “I doubt that we share all of the same tastes, because one of the movies on my list is Bila Pani – The White Lady, which is brilliant Czech comedy from 60s. And it has lot to do with the Lost finale. It’s about what happens, when believing in paranormal activities is prohibited, but a ghost appears in the city run by communists.”

Then he sent me a link, because this Czech comedy from the 60s is no longer available anywhere. Also, there’s some history behind it as well.  Daniel and I communicated a little more by email and here, I’m just going to quote him right out of his Facebook message:

“The movie was shot during the years, when communists were ‘softer’ and after 1968 and invasion of russian army into our country it was put in the safe and most of the actors were persecuted (and those people were true elite actors at the time). The two communist leaders in the movie Kopecky and Hrusinsky are one of the best czech actors of all time. Hrusinksy could not work in TV and film for seven years due to this film and a letter he signed against russians.”

So, what I’ve got here is a historically, politically, and culturally relevant film from the 60’s, which you can’t get anywhere anymore, and which my Long Lost Czech Twin Brother has recommended, due to its greatness and the manner in which it ties into the Lost finale.

Guess what you’re watching next week, Future Tom.

I will screen this movie in Columbus, so anyone who wants to come and watch it, go ahead and send me a Facebook message and I’ll let you know where.  The tentative date for the screening is next Monday, June 7th, 2010, and the location will be disclosed later.  I don’t want the place getting mobbed by millions of Future Tom fans – they can get pretty riled up sometimes.

 
9 Comments

Posted by on June 1, 2010 in Future Tom Grab Bag

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

9 responses to “My Long Lost Czech Twin Brother

  1. Bethany

    June 2, 2010 at 1:22 am

    Hilariousness about the questioning of your mother. I’m still getting the stink eye about saying my sister is clearly not biologically related to my father. O_O

     
    • thomaschalfant

      June 2, 2010 at 3:58 am

      I am sure my mother will be along soon, to comment on the hilariousness.

       
  2. kelly

    June 2, 2010 at 12:42 pm

    Soft commi films sound so appealing this time of the season. This sounds like the making of a spy book.

     
    • thomaschalfant

      June 2, 2010 at 1:35 pm

      I think it’s anti-commi, just that the communism in the region at the time was softer, so they were allowed to make it.

       
  3. JohnMoonlord

    June 2, 2010 at 3:56 pm

    That’s awesome, Tom!

    You found fame and familly thanks to the LOST ending. Maybe that was your destiny to rant about it… 😉

     
  4. Paul

    June 5, 2010 at 7:42 pm

    You do realize, that Dan Vávra is game designer and writer behind brilliant Mafia 1 and 2, right? : )

    BTW amazing blog here, discovered it also on Dan’s new website in his little Lost rant – your open letter is amazing, completely summing my feelings about Lost.

     
    • thomaschalfant

      June 5, 2010 at 7:51 pm

      Yes, I realize it now, but I hadn’t realized it at first.

      I’ve never played either of the games, but I have to be very, very careful about games. If I start playing one, it eats my entire life until I finish it.

      Thanks very much about the open letter and the blog – things have really begun to move around here, and it’s very exciting. At first it was all people that I know, and now people show up from all over the world – literally – and it’s like fuel in the tank.

      I really appreciate the compliment.

       
  5. Paul

    June 6, 2010 at 5:51 am

    You should give Mafia 1 a try..it is from 2002, but it was way ahead of its time, so even today it looks pretty good. And the story and mission design = classic. If you like Mafia movies, you have to play this.

     

Leave a Reply

 
